Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Peter Carroll's Yikes! Wins DBSC Thursday Beneteau 211 Race

19th May 2022
In the ten-boat DBSC scratch race for the Beneteau 211s, Peter Carroll's Yikes was the winner on Dublin Bay
In the ten-boat DBSC scratch race for the Beneteau 211s, Peter Carroll's Yikes was the winner on Dublin Bay Credit: Afloat

In the ten-boat scratch race for the Beneteau 211s, Peter Carroll's Yikes won from Andrew Bradley's Chinook in the fourth IRC race of the AIB Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) Thursday night series.

Third was Pete Evans in Anemos 2. 

Race Officer Ed Totterdell set a course for the Red fleet from DBSC Committee Boat Freebird in 10 to 17-knot winds from the south and southwest with a turning mark at the Forty Foot to give classes a broad spinnaker reach in the excellent sailing conditions.

National Yacht Club sailors occupied the top two places of an 11-boat Flying Fifteen race. John Lavery's Phoenix won from Keith Poole's Mike Wazowski with Neil Colin of the DMYC sailing FFuzzy third.

In a two boat Sportboat race, Sabrina Mahony's RIYC1 won from Declan Curtin's J80 Jester.

As the SB20s build up for their RIYC based World championships this September, Davy Taylor's Ted from the Royal St. George won from Colin Galavan's Royal Irish based Carpe Diem. Third was Patrick McGrath's Smoke on the Water. Two boats did not finish in the five boat race.

DBSC Cruiser Classes

In the Cruiser Classes, Andrew Craig's J109 Chimaera from the Royal Irish Yacht Club won tonight's windy fourth IRC race of the AIB Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) Thursday night series.

Colin Byrne's XP33 Bon Exemple from the RIYC was second, with clubmate Tim Goodbody's J109 White Mischief in third place in the 12-boat fleet.

Flat seas with strong south-westerlies up to 20-knots made for excellent Thursday night racing.

In a six-boat Cruisers Zero contest, the top three were an entirely RIYC affair. Paul O'Higgins JPK 10.80 Rockabill VI, who will contest Saturday's cross channel ISORA race, was the winner of Tim Kane's Extreme 37 WOW. Third was Rodney and Keith Martin's 44.7 Lively Lady.

In IRC 2, Royal St. George's Lindsay J. Casey's Windjammer (the most successful DBSC IRC yacht for the past two seasons) won from Leslie Parnell's First 34.7 Black Velvet with Richard Lovegrove's Sigma 33 Rupert third in a nine boat turnout.

In IRC 3, in a three boat turnout, Krypton sailed by Alan Turner won from Kevin Byrne's Starlet. Myles Kelly in Maranda was third. 

Tonight's DBSC Race Officer was Blue fleet (MacLir), Con Murphy.

See full DBSC individual and overall results in all classes below.

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Jonathan Nicholson of the Royal St. George Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2022

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating