Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

First slot for Ireland vs The World Match Racing Decided

2nd July 2010
First slot for Ireland vs The World Match Racing Decided
Marty O'Leary’s well-oiled machine convincingly won the first Trial for one of  the last two spots on the Irish Team for the upcoming International Match Racing  Challenge.

O’Leary beat Stefan Hyde’s team two nil in the best of three sail off.

This was a good warm up for Marty and crew who will represent Ireland next  week in the World Student Match Racing Championships on behalf of their  University, Dublin Institute of Technology.

Racing in Scotsman’s Bay in an oscillating breeze of 10 – 15 knots, O’Leary  won both starts and sailed cleanly from there to win both races.  The first  race was decided in the last 30 seconds of the pre-start when some good crew  work from the DIT team allowed them to block Stefan Hyde out past the Committee Boat.

The first beat saw some frantic tacking by Hyde and crew but the slick crew  work from the student team if anything allowed them to pull further ahead and  win the race by delta 50 seconds.

The second race was a much closer affair, with a fired up Hyde almost  succeeding in pushing his younger rivals over the start line.  The two crews  then sailed on starboard up to the port layline which allowed Hyde’s team to  stay close. However, another good hoist from the DIT crew ensured that there  would be no passing lane for Hyde. Despite the gap closing to two lengths  at the first leeward mark, O’Leary went on to win by delta 40 seconds.

The second trial for the final spot on the Irish team will take place next  Monday evening where skippers Mary O’Loughlin, Martin Mahon and Graham Elmes  will fight it out for the coveted space.

The International Match Race Challenge will take place on the weekend of  24th – 25th July 2010 in Scotman’s Bay, Dun Laoghaire.

Six Irish teams captained by Irish No. 1 John Sheehy will take on six teams  from around the World captained by World No.2 Mirsky Racing.  Live commentary  will be provided on VHF over the weekend.
Published in Match Racing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

About Match Racing

A match race is a race between two competitors, going head-to-head.

In yacht racing, it is differentiated from a fleet race, which almost always involves three or more competitors competing against each other, and team racing where teams consisting of 2, 3 or 4 boats compete together in a team race, with their results being combined.

A match race consists of two identical boats racing against each other. With effective boat handling and clever use of wind and currents, a trailing boat can escape the grasp of the leader and pass. The leader uses blocking techniques to hold the other boat back. This one-on-one duel is a game of strategy and tactics.

About the World Match Racing Tour

Founded in 2000, the World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) promotes the sport of match racing around the world and is the longest running global professional series in the sport of sailing. The WMRT is awarded ‘Special Event’ status by the sport’s world governing body – World Sailing – and the winner of the WMRT each year is crowned World Sailing Match Racing World Champion. Previous champions include Sir Ben Ainslie (GBR), Taylor Canfield (USA), Peter Gilmour (AUS), Magnus Holmberg (SWE), Peter Holmberg (ISV), Adam Minoprio (NZL), Torvar Mirsky (AUS), Bertrand Pace (FRA), Jesper Radich (DEN), Phil Robertson (NZL) and Ian Williams (GBR). Since 2000, the World Match Racing Tour and its events have awarded over USD23million in prize money to sailors which has helped to contribute to the career pathway of many of today’s professional sailors

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2022

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating